MLB Baseball

#16
César Hernández
AVG HR RBI
.338 4 10
Team: PhiladelphiaHt / Wt: 5-10 / 161 NFBC ADP: 279.45
Position: 2BBorn: 5/23/1990 Birthplace: Valencia, Venezuela
Bats/Throws: S/R Draft: Undrafted by Phillies (2006)


Latest News
Apr. 23 2:38 PM PT3:38 PM MT4:38 PM CT5:38 PM ET17:38 ET21:38 GMT5:38 2:38 PM MST4:38 PM EST5:08 PM VEN1:38 UAE (+1)4:38 PM CT-Hernandez hit a two-run homer among his two hits in Sunday's win over the Braves.
Analysis: Hernandez, who leads the majors with 10 multihit games, has hit safely in all nine home contests, batting .436 with six extra-base and 12 runs scored. Last year, Hernandez hit six homers in 622 plate appearances. He has four in 85 this season. ''I feel stronger with more muscle on my body,'' he said. Manager Pete Mackanin joked he may move his leadoff hitter into the cleanup spot. Hernandez leads the team in homers.
Apr. 22 8:38 PM PT9:38 PM MT10:38 PM CT11:38 PM ET23:38 ET3:38 GMT11:38 8:38 PM MST10:38 PM EST11:08 PM VEN7:38 UAE (+1)10:38 PM CT-Hernandez had another multi-hit game Saturday, going 2 for 5 with two runs in a win over Altanta.
Analysis: Hernandez notched his fifth multihit game in his last seven contests. He's hit safely in all eight home games this season with a .429 average (15 for 35).
Apr. 21 8:13 PM PT9:13 PM MT10:13 PM CT11:13 PM ET23:13 ET3:13 GMT11:13 8:13 PM MST10:13 PM EST10:43 PM VEN7:13 UAE (+1)10:13 PM CT-Hernandez had three hits and scored two runs to lead the Phillies to a 4-3 victory over the Braves on Friday night.
Analysis: After going 0 for 9 in his previous two games, Hernandez broke out for his fourth multihit game in his last six contests. He is batting .433 with four doubles and nine runs in seven home games.
Apr. 21 9:51 PM PT10:51 PM MT11:51 PM CT12:51 AM ET0:51 ET4:51 GMT12:51 9:51 PM MST11:51 PM EST12:21 AM VEN8:51 UAE11:51 PM CT-Hernandez was 0 for 4 with three more strikeouts in Thursday's win over the Mets.
Analysis: Hernandez is now 0 for 9 with six strikeouts in his last two games after batting .388 (19 for 49) with two homers, seven RBIs, 12 runs and 11 strikeouts during an 11-game hitting streak.
Apr. 19 8:46 PM PT9:46 PM MT10:46 PM CT11:46 PM ET23:46 ET3:46 GMT11:46 8:46 PM MST10:46 PM EST11:16 PM VEN7:46 UAE (+1)10:46 PM CT-Hernandez went hitless for the first time since April 5 in Wednesday's loss to the Mets.
Analysis: Hernandez went 0 for 5 with three strikeouts to end his 11-game hitting streak. He batted .388 (19 for 49) with two homers, seven RBIs and 12 runs during his streak.
Apr. 18 8:37 PM PT9:37 PM MT10:37 PM CT11:37 PM ET23:37 ET3:37 GMT11:37 8:37 PM MST10:37 PM EST11:07 PM VEN7:37 UAE (+1)10:37 PM CT-Hernandez had two more hits in the Phillies' win over the Mets on Tuesday.
Analysis: Hernandez has hit safely in 12 of 13 games, and is batting .415 with two homers, seven RBIs and 10 runs in his last nine contests. The Phillies face Robert Gsellman on Wednesday, and Hernandez is 2 for 9 lifetime against him.
Apr. 16 4:40 PM PT5:40 PM MT6:40 PM CT7:40 PM ET19:40 ET23:40 GMT7:40 4:40 PM MST6:40 PM EST7:10 PM VEN3:40 UAE (+1)6:40 PM CT-Hernandez homered on the third pitch of the game on Sunday, his second leadoff homer this season and the third of his big league career.
Analysis: Hernandez, who hit the go-ahead home run Saturday, has homered in consecutive games for the first time in his career.
Apr. 15 1:44 PM PT2:44 PM MT3:44 PM CT4:44 PM ET16:44 ET20:44 GMT4:44 1:44 PM MST3:44 PM EST4:14 PM VEN0:44 UAE (+1)3:44 PM CT-Hernandez hit a tiebreaking, two-run homer off Joe Blanton in the eighth inning, and the Philadelphia Phillies beat the Washington Nationals 4-2 Saturday to stop a four-game losing streak.
Analysis: Hernandez has hit in nine straight games with multiple hits in five of his last seven.
Apr. 9 2:20 PM PT3:20 PM MT4:20 PM CT5:20 PM ET17:20 ET21:20 GMT5:20 2:20 PM MST4:20 PM EST4:50 PM VEN1:20 UAE (+1)4:20 PM CT-Hernandez went 2 for 5 with a pair of RBIs in the Phillies' 4-3, 10-inning win over the Nationals on Sunday.
Analysis: Hernandez had quite a series, going 5 for 13 with two doubles, a triple and three RBIs.
Apr. 4 8:33 AM PT9:33 AM MT10:33 AM CT11:33 AM ET11:33 ET15:33 GMT23:33 8:33 AM MST10:33 AM EST11:03 AM VEN19:33 UAE10:33 AM CT-Hernandez opened the Phillies' season with a homer, connecting on Scott Feldman's eighth pitch, Monday.
Analysis: It was Hernandez's second career leadoff homer. He also connected against the Cardinals' Luke Weaver on Aug. 20.
Feb. 3 1:36 PM PT2:36 PM MT3:36 PM CT4:36 PM ET16:36 ET21:36 GMT5:36 2:36 PM MST4:36 PM EST5:06 PM VEN1:36 UAE (+1)3:36 PM CT-The Phillies and Hernandez avoided arbitration by agreeing to a $2.55 million contract for the upcoming season.
Analysis: The switch-hitting second baseman gets a significant raise from last year's $525,000 salary after putting together a solid 2016 campaign. Hernandez tied for the major league lead with 11 triples, topped the Phillies with a .374 on-base percentage and hit .294 with six homers, 39 RBIs and 17 stolen bases.

Regular Season

Hitting Statistics
Year Team G AB R H 2B 3B HR RBI BB K SB CS AVG OBP SLG
2013 Phi 34 121 17 35 5 0 0 10 9 26 0 3 .289 .344 .331
2014 Phi 66 114 13 27 2 0 1 4 9 33 1 1 .237 .290 .281
2015 Phi 127 405 57 110 20 4 1 35 40 86 19 5 .272 .339 .348
2016 Phi 155 547 67 161 14 11 6 39 66 116 17 13 .294 .371 .393
2017 Phi 18 80 18 27 4 1 4 10 5 23 3 1 .338 .376 .563
Career 400 1267 172 360 45 16 12 98 129 284 40 23 .284 .352 .373


Sports Data API Powered by STATS © 2017 by STATS.
Any commercial use or distribution without the express written consent of STATS is strictly prohibited.