MLB Baseball

#50
Charlie Morton
ERA W-L K
3.13 15-3 201
Team: HoustonHt / Wt: 6-5 / 220
Position: SPBorn: 11/12/1983 Birthplace: Flemington, New Jersey
Bats/Throws: R/R Draft: 3rd Round by Braves (2002)


Latest News
Sep. 30 2:34 PM PT3:34 PM MT4:34 PM CT5:34 PM ET17:34 ET21:34 GMT5:34 2:34 PM MST4:34 PM EST3:34 PM CST5:04 PM VEN1:34 UAE (+1)4:34 PM CT-Charlie Morton allowed one hit and one walk without giving up a run in 3.0 innings as the Houston Astros lost to the Baltimore Orioles 4-0 on Sunday. Morton struck out four, ending the game with a 3.13 ERA and 1.16 WHIP on the season.
Sep. 23 2:26 PM PT3:26 PM MT4:26 PM CT5:26 PM ET17:26 ET21:26 GMT5:26 2:26 PM MST4:26 PM EST3:26 PM CST4:56 PM VEN1:26 UAE (+1)4:26 PM CT-Morton rejoined the team Saturday in Baltimore. He's available to pitch in the finale.
Analysis: Morton dealt with a sore shoulder earlier this season and did not pitch from Aug. 28 to Sept. 8.
Sep. 15 7:34 PM PT8:34 PM MT9:34 PM CT10:34 PM ET22:34 ET2:34 GMT10:34 7:34 PM MST9:34 PM EST8:34 PM CST10:04 PM VEN6:34 UAE (+1)9:34 PM CT-Charlie Morton improved to 15-3, allowing two runs on three hits in 6.0 innings, as the Houston Astros defeated the Arizona Diamondbacks 10-4 on Saturday. Morton struck out seven, ending the game with a 3.15 ERA and 1.17 WHIP on the season.
Sep. 8 4:48 PM PT5:48 PM MT6:48 PM CT7:48 PM ET19:48 ET23:48 GMT7:48 4:48 PM MST6:48 PM EST5:48 PM CST7:18 PM VEN3:48 UAE (+1)6:48 PM CT-Charlie Morton improved to 14-3, allowing two runs on seven hits and two walks in 5.0 innings, as the Houston Astros defeated the Boston Red Sox 5-3 on Saturday. Morton struck out three, ending the game with a 3.15 ERA and 1.20 WHIP on the season.
Aug. 29 10:25 AM PT11:25 AM MT12:25 PM CT1:25 PM ET13:25 ET17:25 GMT1:25 10:25 AM MST12:25 PM EST11:25 AM CST12:55 PM VEN21:25 UAE12:25 PM CT-Morton (shoulder discomfort) is starting in Boston on Saturday.
Analysis: Morton (13-3, 3.14 ERA) struggled in his last two starts before landing on the disabled list Aug. 29, allowing nine runs over 9 2/3 innings.
Aug. 28 8:34 PM PT9:34 PM MT10:34 PM CT11:34 PM ET23:34 ET3:34 GMT11:34 8:34 PM MST10:34 PM EST9:34 PM CST11:04 PM VEN7:34 UAE (+1)10:34 PM CT-Charlie Morton allowed three runs on three hits and four walks in 4.2 innings as the Houston Astros lost to the Oakland Athletics 4-3 on Tuesday. Morton struck out three, ending the game with a 3.14 ERA and 1.18 WHIP on the season.
Aug. 22 4:31 PM PT5:31 PM MT6:31 PM CT7:31 PM ET19:31 ET23:31 GMT7:31 4:31 PM MST6:31 PM EST5:31 PM CST7:01 PM VEN3:31 UAE (+1)6:31 PM CT-Charlie Morton improved to 13-3, allowing six runs on seven hits and one walk in 5.0 innings, as the Houston Astros defeated the Seattle Mariners 10-7 on Wednesday. Morton struck out seven, ending the game with a 3.05 ERA and 1.17 WHIP on the season.
Aug. 18 10:44 PM PT11:44 PM MT12:44 AM CT1:44 AM ET1:44 ET5:44 GMT13:44 10:44 PM MST12:44 AM EST11:44 PM CST1:14 AM VEN9:44 UAE12:44 AM CT-Charlie Morton allowed two runs - one earned - on four hits and two walks in 5.0 innings as the Houston Astros lost to the Oakland Athletics 4-3 on Friday. Morton struck out four, ending the game with a 2.85 ERA and 1.15 WHIP on the season.
Aug. 11 7:09 PM PT8:09 PM MT9:09 PM CT10:09 PM ET22:09 ET2:09 GMT10:09 7:09 PM MST9:09 PM EST8:09 PM CST9:39 PM VEN6:09 UAE (+1)9:09 PM CT-Charlie Morton fell to 12-3, allowing three runs on seven hits and one walk in 6.0 innings, as the Houston Astros lost to the Seattle Mariners 3-2 on Saturday. Morton struck out four, ending the game with a 2.88 ERA and 1.15 WHIP on the season.
Aug. 7 9:44 PM PT10:44 PM MT11:44 PM CT12:44 AM ET0:44 ET4:44 GMT12:44 9:44 PM MST11:44 PM EST10:44 PM CST12:14 AM VEN8:44 UAE11:44 PM CT-Charlie Morton allowed one run on three hits and three walks in 7.0 innings as the Houston Astros defeated the San Francisco Giants 3-1 on Monday. Morton struck out eight, ending the game with a 2.81 ERA and 1.14 WHIP on the season.
Aug. 1 10:25 PM PT11:25 PM MT12:25 AM CT1:25 AM ET1:25 ET5:25 GMT13:25 10:25 PM MST12:25 AM EST11:25 PM CST12:55 AM VEN9:25 UAE12:25 AM CT-Charlie Morton improved to 12-2, allowing two runs on six hits and one walk in 6.0 innings, as the Houston Astros defeated the Seattle Mariners 5-2 on Tuesday. Morton struck out eight, ending the game with a 2.90 ERA and 1.16 WHIP on the season.
July 25 8:41 PM PT9:41 PM MT10:41 PM CT11:41 PM ET23:41 ET3:41 GMT11:41 8:41 PM MST10:41 PM EST9:41 PM CST11:11 PM VEN7:41 UAE (+1)10:41 PM CT-Charlie Morton allowed one run on four hits and four walks in 6.0 innings as the Houston Astros lost to the Colorado Rockies 3-2 on Wednesday. Morton struck out five, ending the game with a 2.89 ERA and 1.16 WHIP on the season.
July 18 9:02 PM PT10:02 PM MT11:02 PM CT12:02 AM ET0:02 ET4:02 GMT12:02 9:02 PM MST11:02 PM EST10:02 PM CST11:32 PM VEN8:02 UAE11:02 PM CT-Charlie Morton blew his first save, allowing two runs on two hits and one walk in 2.0 innings, as the AL All-Stars defeated the NL All-Stars 8-6 on Tuesday. Morton struck out two, ending the game with a 9.00 ERA and 1.50 WHIP on the season.
July 12 2:35 PM PT3:35 PM MT4:35 PM CT5:35 PM ET17:35 ET21:35 GMT5:35 2:35 PM MST4:35 PM EST3:35 PM CST5:05 PM VEN1:35 UAE (+1)4:35 PM CT-Charlie Morton allowed three runs on six hits and two walks in 4.1 innings as the Houston Astros lost to the Oakland Athletics 6-4 on Thursday. Morton struck out five, ending the game with a 2.96 ERA and 1.15 WHIP on the season.
July 7 4:34 PM PT5:34 PM MT6:34 PM CT7:34 PM ET19:34 ET23:34 GMT7:34 4:34 PM MST6:34 PM EST5:34 PM CST7:04 PM VEN3:34 UAE (+1)6:34 PM CT-Charlie Morton improved to 11-2, allowing five runs on five hits and two walks in 5.2 innings, as the Houston Astros defeated the Chicago White Sox 12-6 on Saturday. Morton struck out eight, ending the game with a 2.83 ERA and 1.12 WHIP on the season.
July 1 12:49 PM PT1:49 PM MT2:49 PM CT3:49 PM ET15:49 ET19:49 GMT3:49 12:49 PM MST2:49 PM EST1:49 PM CST3:19 PM VEN23:49 UAE2:49 PM CT-Charlie Morton fell to 10-2, allowing two runs on six hits and two walks in 6.2 innings, as the Houston Astros lost to the Tampa Bay Rays 3-2 on Sunday. Morton struck out 11, ending the game with a 2.55 ERA and 1.11 WHIP on the season.
June 26 7:55 PM PT8:55 PM MT9:55 PM CT10:55 PM ET22:55 ET2:55 GMT10:55 7:55 PM MST9:55 PM EST8:55 PM CST10:25 PM VEN6:55 UAE (+1)9:55 PM CT-Charlie Morton improved to 10-1, allowing four hits and two walks over 7.0 scoreless innings, as the Houston Astros defeated the Toronto Blue Jays 7-0 on Tuesday. Morton struck out 13, ending the game with a 2.54 ERA and 1.11 WHIP on the season.
June 20 7:45 PM PT8:45 PM MT9:45 PM CT10:45 PM ET22:45 ET2:45 GMT10:45 7:45 PM MST9:45 PM EST8:45 PM CST10:15 PM VEN6:45 UAE (+1)9:45 PM CT-Charlie Morton improved to 9-1, allowing one run - zero earned - on two hits and four walks in 6.0 innings, as the Houston Astros defeated the Tampa Bay Rays 5-1 on Wednesday. Morton struck out four, ending the game with a 2.74 ERA and 1.13 WHIP on the season.
June 15 8:06 PM PT9:06 PM MT10:06 PM CT11:06 PM ET23:06 ET3:06 GMT11:06 8:06 PM MST10:06 PM EST9:06 PM CST10:36 PM VEN7:06 UAE (+1)10:06 PM CT-Charlie Morton improved to 8-1, allowing three runs on four hits and four walks in 6.0 innings, as the Houston Astros defeated the Kansas City Royals 7-3 on Friday. Morton struck out nine, ending the game with a 2.94 ERA and 1.14 WHIP on the season.
June 9 7:52 PM PT8:52 PM MT9:52 PM CT10:52 PM ET22:52 ET2:52 GMT10:52 7:52 PM MST9:52 PM EST8:52 PM CST10:22 PM VEN6:52 UAE (+1)9:52 PM CT-Charlie Morton allowed two runs - one earned - on one hit and six walks in 3.2 innings as the Houston Astros defeated the Texas Rangers 4-3 on Saturday. Morton struck out four, ending the game with a 2.82 ERA and 1.12 WHIP on the season.
June 3 8:07 PM PT9:07 PM MT10:07 PM CT11:07 PM ET23:07 ET3:07 GMT11:07 8:07 PM MST10:07 PM EST9:07 PM CST10:37 PM VEN7:07 UAE (+1)10:07 PM CT-Charlie Morton fell to 7-1, allowing six runs on nine hits and one walk in 5.1 innings, as the Houston Astros lost to the Boston Red Sox 9-3 on Sunday. Morton struck out seven, ending the game with a 2.84 ERA and 1.08 WHIP on the season.
May 29 8:03 PM PT9:03 PM MT10:03 PM CT11:03 PM ET23:03 ET3:03 GMT11:03 8:03 PM MST10:03 PM EST9:03 PM CST10:33 PM VEN7:03 UAE (+1)10:03 PM CT-Charlie Morton allowed three runs on eight hits and one walk in 6.0 innings as the Houston Astros lost to the New York Yankees 6-5 on Tuesday. Morton struck out 10, ending the game with a 2.26 ERA and 1.02 WHIP on the season.
May 24 6:09 PM PT7:09 PM MT8:09 PM CT9:09 PM ET21:09 ET1:09 GMT9:09 6:09 PM MST8:09 PM EST7:09 PM CST8:39 PM VEN5:09 UAE (+1)8:09 PM CT-Charlie Morton improved to 7-0, allowing two runs on five hits and three walks in 6.0 innings, as the Houston Astros defeated the Cleveland Indians 8-2 on Thursday. Morton struck out five, ending the game with a 2.04 ERA and 0.97 WHIP on the season.
Analysis: Morton extended his career-best winning streak to 10 games. The right-hander, who moved into a tie for the AL lead in wins, hasn't lost since Sept. 9, 2017 against Oakland.
May 18 8:07 PM PT9:07 PM MT10:07 PM CT11:07 PM ET23:07 ET3:07 GMT11:07 8:07 PM MST10:07 PM EST9:07 PM CST10:37 PM VEN7:07 UAE (+1)10:07 PM CT-Charlie Morton improved to 6-0, allowing one run on four hits and one walk in 7.0 innings, as the Houston Astros defeated the Cleveland Indians 4-1 on Friday. Morton struck out eight, ending the game with a 1.94 ERA and 0.93 WHIP on the season.
May 12 6:50 PM PT7:50 PM MT8:50 PM CT9:50 PM ET21:50 ET1:50 GMT9:50 6:50 PM MST8:50 PM EST7:50 PM CST9:20 PM VEN5:50 UAE (+1)8:50 PM CT-Charlie Morton improved to 5-0, allowing one run on four hits in 7.0 innings, as the Houston Astros defeated the Texas Rangers 6-1 on Saturday. Morton struck out 14, ending the game with a 2.03 ERA and 0.97 WHIP on the season.
Analysis: Morton's previous career-best was 12 strikeouts, which he accomplished twice previously, with the last time coming earlier this season against the Rangers. It's his third game this season with at least 10 strikeouts and he's fanned 62 in seven starts this season.
May 5 8:47 PM PT9:47 PM MT10:47 PM CT11:47 PM ET23:47 ET3:47 GMT11:47 8:47 PM MST10:47 PM EST9:47 PM CST11:17 PM VEN7:47 UAE (+1)10:47 PM CT-Charlie Morton allowed three runs on three hits and four walks in 5.0 innings as the Houston Astros lost to the Arizona Diamondbacks 4-3 on Saturday. Morton struck out three, ending the game with a 2.16 ERA and 1.03 WHIP on the season.
Apr. 30 7:44 PM PT8:44 PM MT9:44 PM CT10:44 PM ET22:44 ET2:44 GMT10:44 7:44 PM MST9:44 PM EST8:44 PM CST10:14 PM VEN6:44 UAE (+1)9:44 PM CT-Charlie Morton improved to 4-0, allowing one run on two hits and two walks in 7.2 innings, as the Houston Astros defeated the New York Yankees 2-1 on Monday. Morton struck out 10, ending the game with a 1.72 ERA and 0.98 WHIP on the season.
Apr. 25 9:01 PM PT10:01 PM MT11:01 PM CT12:01 AM ET0:01 ET4:01 GMT12:01 9:01 PM MST11:01 PM EST10:01 PM CST11:31 PM VEN8:01 UAE11:01 PM CT-Charlie Morton allowed four runs on five hits and five walks in 4.0 innings as the Houston Astros lost to the Los Angeles Angels 8-7 on Tuesday. Morton struck out two, ending the game with a 1.86 ERA and 1.10 WHIP on the season.
Apr. 19 3:54 PM PT4:54 PM MT5:54 PM CT6:54 PM ET18:54 ET22:54 GMT6:54 3:54 PM MST5:54 PM EST4:54 PM CST6:24 PM VEN2:54 UAE (+1)5:54 PM CT-Charlie Morton improved to 3-0, allowing three hits over 7.0 scoreless innings, as the Houston Astros defeated the Seattle Mariners 9-2 on Thursday. Morton struck out eight, ending the game with a 0.72 ERA and 0.88 WHIP on the season.
Apr. 14 4:36 PM PT5:36 PM MT6:36 PM CT7:36 PM ET19:36 ET23:36 GMT7:36 4:36 PM MST6:36 PM EST5:36 PM CST7:06 PM VEN3:36 UAE (+1)6:36 PM CT-Charlie Morton allowed two runs on six hits and one walk in 6.0 innings as the Houston Astros lost to the Texas Rangers 6-5 on Saturday. Morton struck out 12, ending the game with a 1.00 ERA and 1.06 WHIP on the season.
Apr. 8 1:38 PM PT2:38 PM MT3:38 PM CT4:38 PM ET16:38 ET20:38 GMT4:38 1:38 PM MST3:38 PM EST2:38 PM CST4:08 PM VEN0:38 UAE (+1)3:38 PM CT-Charlie Morton improved to 2-0, allowing one run - zero earned - on four hits and three walks in 6.0 innings, as the Houston Astros defeated the San Diego Padres 4-1 on Sunday. Morton struck out seven, ending the game with a 0.00 ERA and 1.00 WHIP on the season.
Apr. 2 7:18 PM PT8:18 PM MT9:18 PM CT10:18 PM ET22:18 ET2:18 GMT10:18 7:18 PM MST9:18 PM EST8:18 PM CST9:48 PM VEN6:18 UAE (+1)9:18 PM CT-Charlie Morton improved to 1-0, allowing three hits and two walks over 6.0 scoreless innings, as the Houston Astros defeated the Baltimore Orioles 6-1 on Monday. Morton struck out six, ending the game with a 0.00 ERA and 0.83 WHIP on the season.

Regular Season

Pitching Statistics
Year Team W L Sv-Op G GS CG IP H R ER HR BB IBB K WHIP ERA
2008 Atl 4 8 0 - 0 16 15 0 74.2 80 56 51 9 41 2 48 1.62 6.15
2009 Pit 5 9 0 - 0 18 18 1 97.0 102 49 49 7 40 0 62 1.46 4.55
2010 Pit 2 12 0 - 0 17 17 0 79.2 112 79 67 15 26 3 59 1.73 7.57
2011 Pit 10 10 0 - 0 29 29 2 171.2 186 82 73 6 77 5 110 1.53 3.83
2012 Pit 2 6 0 - 0 9 9 0 50.1 62 30 26 5 11 1 25 1.45 4.65
2013 Pit 7 4 0 - 0 20 20 0 116.0 113 51 42 6 36 1 85 1.28 3.26
2014 Pit 6 12 0 - 0 26 26 0 157.1 143 76 65 9 57 2 126 1.27 3.72
2015 Pit 9 9 0 - 0 23 23 0 129.0 137 77 69 13 41 6 96 1.38 4.81
2016 Phi 1 1 0 - 0 4 4 0 17.1 15 8 8 1 8 0 19 1.33 4.15
2017 Hou 14 7 0 - 0 25 25 0 146.2 125 65 59 14 50 1 163 1.19 3.62
2018 Hou 15 3 0 - 0 30 30 0 167.0 130 63 58 18 64 0 201 1.16 3.13
Career 75 81 0 - 0 217 216 3 1206.2 1205 636 567 103 451 21 994 1.37 4.23

Hitting Statistics
Year Team G AB R H 2B 3B HR RBI BB K SB CS AVG OBP SLG
2008 Atl 16 17 0 1 1 0 0 0 0 9 0 1 .059 .059 .118
2009 Pit 18 31 1 4 0 0 0 1 0 15 0 0 .129 .129 .129
2010 Pit 17 26 0 1 0 0 0 0 0 18 0 0 .038 .038 .038
2011 Pit 29 50 0 4 3 0 0 2 1 29 0 0 .080 .094 .140
2012 Pit 9 13 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 8 0 0 .000 .000 .000
2013 Pit 20 36 1 5 0 0 0 1 0 11 0 0 .139 .139 .139
2014 Pit 26 40 1 2 0 0 0 1 1 21 0 0 .050 .073 .050
2015 Pit 23 36 0 1 0 0 0 1 1 18 0 0 .028 .054 .028
2016 Phi 4 6 1 1 0 0 0 0 0 3 0 0 .167 .167 .167
2017 Hou 25 3 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 .000 .000 .000
2018 Hou 30 6 0 1 0 0 0 0 0 5 0 0 .167 .167 .167
Career 217 264 4 20 4 0 0 6 3 137 0 1 .076 .086 .091

Postseason

Pitching Statistics
Year Team Round W L Sv-Op G GS CG IP H R ER HR BB IBB K ERA
2013 Pit Total 0 1 0 - 0 1 1 0 5.2 3 2 2 1 4 0 4 3.18
    LDS 0 1 0 - 0 1 1 0 5.2 3 2 2 1 4 0 4 3.18
2017 Hou Total 2 1 0 - 0 5 4 0 23.1 20 11 11 2 6 0 25 4.24
    LDS 0 0 0 - 0 1 1 0 4.1 7 2 2 1 2 0 6 4.15
    LCS 1 1 0 - 0 2 2 0 8.2 8 7 7 1 3 0 8 7.27
    WS 1 0 0 - 0 2 1 0 10.1 5 2 2 0 1 0 11 1.74
Career 2 2 0 - 0 6 5 0 29.0 23 13 13 3 10 0 29 4.03

Hitting Statistics
Year Team Round G AB R H 2B 3B HR RBI BB K SB CS AVG OBP SLG
2013 Pit Total 1 1 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 .000 .000 .000
    LDS 1 1 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 .000 .000 .000
2017 Hou Total 5 1 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 1 0 0 .000 .000 .000
    WS 2 1 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 1 0 0 .000 .000 .000
Career 6 2 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 1 0 0 .000 .000 .000


Pitching Velocity

Pitch TypePitchesMaxMinAvgPct
Fastball 1566 99 89 95.7 58.26
Curveball 789 84 74 79.7 29.35
Changeup 167 90 83 87.4 6.21
Cut Fastball 166 92 83 88.5 6.18

Sports Data API Powered by STATS © 2018 by STATS.
Any commercial use or distribution without the express written consent of STATS is strictly prohibited.