Inquirer Daily News
Thursday, November 1, 2012
MLB Baseball
Scoreboard|Stats|Standings|Teams|Players|Player News|Injuries|Transactions
#27
Matt Kemp
AVG HR RBI
.287 25 89
Team: San DiegoHt / Wt: 6-4 / 215 NFBC ADP: 34.08
Position: CFBorn: 9/23/1984 Birthplace: Midwest City, Oklahoma
Bats/Throws: R/R Draft: 6th Round by Dodgers (2003)


Latest News
Dec. 11 8:04 AM PT9:04 AM MT10:04 AM CT11:04 AM ET11:04 ET16:04 GMT0:04 9:04 AM MST11:04 AM EST11:34 AM VEN20:04 UAE10:04 AM CT-A person with knowledge of the situation says the San Diego Padres have a deal in place to acquire outfielder Matt Kemp and catcher Tim Federowicz from the division rival Los Angeles Dodgers for catcher Yasmani Grandal and two pitchers.
Analysis: The Padres are due to receive some $30 million to help offset the $107 million still remaining on Kemp's deal, which must be approved by the commissioner's office. San Diego has been desperate for a power bat to punch up its woeful offense. Kemp had a strong second half in 2014 for the NL West champion Dodgers, finishing with a .287 average, 25 home runs and 89 RBIs.
Sep. 22 8:44 AM PT9:44 AM MT10:44 AM CT11:44 AM ET11:44 ET15:44 GMT23:44 8:44 AM MST10:44 AM EST11:14 AM VEN19:44 UAE10:44 AM CT-Kemp went 4 for 5 with a homer and four RBIs in Sunday's 8-5 win at Wrigley Field.
Analysis: Kemp is hitting .368 with four homers and 15 RBIs over a nine-game stretch.
Sep. 20 12:06 PM PT1:06 PM MT2:06 PM CT3:06 PM ET15:06 ET19:06 GMT3:06 12:06 PM MST2:06 PM EST2:36 PM VEN23:06 UAE2:06 PM CT-Kemp hit a three-run shot in Los Angeles' six-run first inning and singled in a 14-5 rout of the Chicago Cubs on Friday.
Analysis: Kemp has 11 of his 80 RBIs in the last seven games and has homered three times in his last six.
Sep. 14 7:05 PM PT8:05 PM MT9:05 PM CT10:05 PM ET22:05 ET2:05 GMT10:05 7:05 PM MST9:05 PM EST9:35 PM VEN6:05 UAE (+1)9:05 PM CT-Kemp came up big Saturday with three hits, including two doubles, and three RBIs in a 17-0 win at San Francisco.
Analysis: Kemp is hitting .323 with two homers and six RBIs in his last nine games.
Aug. 27 2:01 PM PT3:01 PM MT4:01 PM CT5:01 PM ET17:01 ET21:01 GMT5:01 2:01 PM MST4:01 PM EST4:31 PM VEN1:01 UAE (+1)4:01 PM CT-Kemp went 2 for 4 with a two-run homer in Tuesday's win over Arizona.
Analysis: Kemp's success has leveled out since putting together a few scorching weeks in July, but he's still batting .309 with a .902 OPS in 43 games since July 6.
Aug. 3 1:22 PM PT2:22 PM MT3:22 PM CT4:22 PM ET16:22 ET20:22 GMT4:22 1:22 PM MST3:22 PM EST3:52 PM VEN0:22 UAE (+1)3:22 PM CT-Kemp homered again in Saturday's 5-2, 12-inning win over the Cubs.
Analysis: Kemp has four long balls over the last five games. He's hitting .400 with 13 RBIs in his last 12.
July 31 2:15 PM PT3:15 PM MT4:15 PM CT5:15 PM ET17:15 ET21:15 GMT5:15 2:15 PM MST4:15 PM EST4:45 PM VEN1:15 UAE (+1)4:15 PM CT-Kemp had three hits with a homer Wednesday.
Analysis: Kemp has gone yard three times in the series with six RBIs. He is heating up.
July 30 10:46 AM PT11:46 AM MT12:46 PM CT1:46 PM ET13:46 ET17:46 GMT1:46 10:46 AM MST12:46 PM EST1:16 PM VEN21:46 UAE12:46 PM CT-Kemp went 3 for 4 with a pair of two-run homers in Tuesday's 8-4 win over Atlanta.
Analysis: Kemp is batting .452 with two homers and nine RBIs over an eight-game stretch.
July 26 2:24 PM PT3:24 PM MT4:24 PM CT5:24 PM ET17:24 ET21:24 GMT5:24 2:24 PM MST4:24 PM EST4:54 PM VEN1:24 UAE (+1)4:24 PM CT-Kemp went 3 for 5 with two RBIs in Friday's 8-1 win at San Francisco.
Analysis: Kemp is 8 for 21 with five RBIs over the last five games.
July 19 11:08 AM PT12:08 PM MT1:08 PM CT2:08 PM ET14:08 ET18:08 GMT2:08 11:08 AM MST1:08 PM EST1:38 PM VEN22:08 UAE1:08 PM CT-Kemp was 0 for 3 on Friday.
Analysis: Kemp failed to shine while fellow Oklahoma native Matt Holliday homered and doubled with three RBIs for the Cards.
July 7 1:00 PM PT2:00 PM MT3:00 PM CT4:00 PM ET16:00 ET20:00 GMT4:00 1:00 PM MST3:00 PM EST3:30 PM VEN0:00 UAE (+1)3:00 PM CT-Kemp had four hits and drove in two runs Sunday.
Analysis: Kemp busted out of a pathetic 1-for- 20 slump.
June 30 3:52 PM PT4:52 PM MT5:52 PM CT6:52 PM ET18:52 ET22:52 GMT6:52 3:52 PM MST5:52 PM EST6:22 PM VEN2:52 UAE (+1)5:52 PM CT-Kemp was 2 for 3 with his 20th double in Sunday's win over the Cardinals.
Analysis: Kemp is batting .327 over his last 28 games with 18 RBIs.
June 26 3:47 PM PT4:47 PM MT5:47 PM CT6:47 PM ET18:47 ET22:47 GMT6:47 3:47 PM MST5:47 PM EST6:17 PM VEN2:47 UAE (+1)5:47 PM CT-Kemp connected on his eighth homer of the season in Wednesday's win at Kansas City.
Analysis: Kemp is hitting .360 over his last 13 games with 11 RBIs.
June 23 2:53 PM PT3:53 PM MT4:53 PM CT5:53 PM ET17:53 ET21:53 GMT5:53 2:53 PM MST4:53 PM EST5:23 PM VEN1:53 UAE (+1)4:53 PM CT-Kemp is hitting .410 during a 10-game streak.
Analysis: Kemp has 10 RBIs during his run for the Dodgers.
May 26 6:36 PM PT7:36 PM MT8:36 PM CT9:36 PM ET21:36 ET1:36 GMT9:36 6:36 PM MST8:36 PM EST9:06 PM VEN5:36 UAE (+1)8:36 PM CT-Kemp is out of the Dodgers' starting lineup for the fourth straight game, and he's being groomed to play left field because the team isn't confident he can handle the defensive demands of playing center field at the moment.
Analysis: Manager Don Mattingly said Monday that Kemp isn't moving the way he did a couple of years ago, when he was the 2011 NL MVP runner-up. He believes Kemp isn't 100 percent physically after undergoing ankle surgery during the offseason.
May 12 9:07 PM PT10:07 PM MT11:07 PM CT12:07 AM ET0:07 ET4:07 GMT12:07 9:07 PM MST11:07 PM EST11:37 PM VEN8:07 UAE11:07 PM CT-Kemp has at least one hit in seven of his last eight games after going 2 for 4 with his fifth home run of the season Saturday against San Francisco.
Analysis: Kemp is batting .464 over his last eight games, raising his season average from .205 to .270.
May 7 10:00 AM PT11:00 AM MT12:00 PM CT1:00 PM ET13:00 ET17:00 GMT1:00 10:00 AM MST12:00 PM EST12:30 PM VEN21:00 UAE12:00 PM CT-Kemp was not in the starting lineup for Wednesday's game versus Washington.
Analysis: Manager Don Mattingly says he has not received any medical reports of a problem with Kemp, but the outfielder "seemed a little tired" during the Dodgers' 8-3 victory over Washington on Tuesday.
Apr. 27 8:16 PM PT9:16 PM MT10:16 PM CT11:16 PM ET23:16 ET3:16 GMT11:16 8:16 PM MST10:16 PM EST10:46 PM VEN7:16 UAE (+1)10:16 PM CT-Kemp went 2 for 4 with a homer in Saturday's win over Colorado.
Analysis: While Kemp has four homers, he's hitting just .219 thus far. Hopefully he picks it up going forward.
Apr. 7 3:21 PM PT4:21 PM MT5:21 PM CT6:21 PM ET18:21 ET22:21 GMT6:21 3:21 PM MST5:21 PM EST5:51 PM VEN2:21 UAE (+1)5:21 PM CT-Kemp was 2 for 3 and connected on his first two homers of the season in Sunday's win over the rival Giants.
Analysis: It was the sixth career multihomer game for Kemp, who drove in three runs.
Mar. 22 10:42 PM PT11:42 PM MT12:42 AM CT1:42 AM ET1:42 ET5:42 GMT13:42 10:42 PM MST12:42 AM EST1:12 AM VEN9:42 UAE11:42 PM CT-The Los Angeles Dodgers placed Kemp on the 15-day disabled list Friday.
Analysis: Kemp is rehabbing from ankle surgery.
Feb. 28 8:52 PM PT9:52 PM MT10:52 PM CT11:52 PM ET23:52 ET4:52 GMT12:52 9:52 PM MST11:52 PM EST12:22 AM VEN8:52 UAE10:52 PM CT-Kemp had an MRI on his surgically repaired left ankle Thursday instead of Friday.
Analysis: The Dodgers expect results this weekend. Kemp had microfracture surgery in October.

Regular Season

Hitting Statistics
Year Team G AB R H 2B 3B HR RBI BB K SB CS AVG OBP SLG
2006 LAD 52 154 30 39 7 1 7 23 9 53 6 0 .253 .289 .448
2007 LAD 98 292 47 100 12 5 10 42 16 66 10 5 .342 .373 .521
2008 LAD 155 606 93 176 38 5 18 76 46 153 35 11 .290 .340 .459
2009 LAD 159 606 97 180 25 7 26 101 52 139 34 8 .297 .352 .490
2010 LAD 162 602 82 150 25 6 28 89 53 170 19 15 .249 .310 .450
2011 LAD 161 602 115 195 33 4 39 126 74 159 40 11 .324 .399 .586
2012 LAD 106 403 74 122 22 2 23 69 40 103 9 4 .303 .367 .538
2013 LAD 73 263 35 71 15 0 6 33 22 76 9 0 .270 .328 .395
2014 LAD 150 541 77 155 38 3 25 89 52 145 8 5 .287 .346 .506
Career 1116 4069 650 1188 215 33 182 648 364 1064 170 59 .292 .349 .495

Postseason

Hitting Statistics
Year Team Round G AB R H 2B 3B HR RBI BB K SB CS AVG OBP SLG
2008 LAD Total 8 28 1 7 3 0 0 1 4 9 0 1 .250 .344 .357
    LDS 3 13 0 2 2 0 0 1 0 5 0 0 .154 .154 .308
    LCS 5 15 1 5 1 0 0 0 4 4 0 1 .333 .474 .400
2009 LAD Total 8 34 4 7 0 0 2 4 1 16 0 1 .206 .229 .382
    LDS 3 14 2 2 0 0 1 2 0 8 0 0 .143 .143 .357
    LCS 5 20 2 5 0 0 1 2 1 8 0 1 .250 .286 .400
2014 LAD Total 4 17 1 6 0 0 1 2 0 3 0 0 .353 .353 .529
    LDS 4 17 1 6 0 0 1 2 0 3 0 0 .353 .353 .529
Career 20 79 6 20 3 0 3 7 5 28 0 2 .253 .298 .405


w12 © 2014 by STATS LLC.
Any commercial use or distribution without the express written consent of STATS LLC is strictly prohibited.