MLB Baseball
Scoreboard|Stats|Standings|Teams|Players|Player News|Injuries|Transactions
#35
Michael Pineda
ERA W-L K
4.07 10-8 127
Team: NY YankeesHt / Wt: 6-7 / 260 NFBC ADP: 140.98
Position: SPBorn: 1/18/1989 Birthplace: Yaguate, DR
Bats/Throws: R/R Draft: Undrafted by Mariners (2005)


Latest News
Sep. 2 9:03 AM PT10:03 AM MT11:03 AM CT12:03 PM ET12:03 ET16:03 GMT0:03 9:03 AM MST11:03 AM EST11:33 AM VEN20:03 UAE11:03 AM CT-Pineda recorded his first win since July 10 by holding Boston to a run and four hits in six innings Tuesday.
Analysis: It was Pineda's second start since missing more than a month with a strained forearm. The big right-hander had a 7.88 ERA while losing each of his previous three outings.
July 30 1:22 PM PT2:22 PM MT3:22 PM CT4:22 PM ET16:22 ET20:22 GMT4:22 1:22 PM MST3:22 PM EST3:52 PM VEN0:22 UAE (+1)3:22 PM CT-Pineda has returned to the New York Yankees after nearly a month on the disabled list and set to start against Houston. The Yankees made the move before Wednesday's series finale against the AL West-leading Astros.
Analysis: Pineda had been out since July 30 because of a strained right forearm. He made two rehabilitation starts in the minors before rejoining the Yankees. Pineda is 9-7 with a 3.97 ERA in 19 starts this year. He has struck out 117 and walked just 15, the best ratio in the majors for pitchers with at least 100 innings.
June 29 3:42 PM PT4:42 PM MT5:42 PM CT6:42 PM ET18:42 ET22:42 GMT6:42 3:42 PM MST5:42 PM EST6:12 PM VEN2:42 UAE (+1)5:42 PM CT-Pineda fell to 8-5 on Sunday.
Analysis: Pineda allowed seven hits and three runs - two earned - and struck out eight in eight innings for the first complete game of his career. The solid performance comes after he allowed 11 hits and eight runs - both career highs - in his previous start.
June 23 11:44 AM PT12:44 PM MT1:44 PM CT2:44 PM ET14:44 ET18:44 GMT2:44 11:44 AM MST1:44 PM EST2:14 PM VEN22:44 UAE1:44 PM CT-Pineda was putrid Monday.
Analysis: In 3 1-3 innings, Pineda allowed career highs of eight runs and 11 hits - his second poor start sandwiching an outing in which he took a no-hitter into the seventh. "His slider wasn't very good. His fastball was spotty," Yankees manager Joe Girardi said. "He struggled tonight."
June 18 1:17 PM PT2:17 PM MT3:17 PM CT4:17 PM ET16:17 ET20:17 GMT4:17 1:17 PM MST3:17 PM EST3:47 PM VEN0:17 UAE (+1)3:17 PM CT-Pineda was back on regular rest and regained his electric slider and earned his eighth win Wednesday.
Analysis: Pineda retired his first 11 batters against the Marlins and pitched six hitless innings before he was eventually yanked.
June 13 2:50 PM PT3:50 PM MT4:50 PM CT5:50 PM ET17:50 ET21:50 GMT5:50 2:50 PM MST4:50 PM EST5:20 PM VEN1:50 UAE (+1)4:50 PM CT-Pineda fanned only two in 4 1/3 rocky innings, allowing six runs, nine hits and two walks Friday.
Analysis: It was Pineda's shortest outing since being ejected in the second inning on April 23, 2014, for using pine tar on the mound. Pineda hadn't pitched since June 1 because the Yankees don't want to overwork him, but he wouldn't blame the extended rest for his subpar performance. "They tried to take care of me and give me a little rest," Pineda said. "What happened tonight, it happens with everybody."
June 6 9:48 AM PT10:48 AM MT11:48 AM CT12:48 PM ET12:48 ET16:48 GMT0:48 9:48 AM MST11:48 AM EST12:18 PM VEN20:48 UAE11:48 AM CT-Pineda will skip a start and next pitch Friday night at Baltimore.
Analysis: Manager Joe Girardi said there aren't any health concerns with Pineda, who has been injury plagued in his career. Instead, the team wants to limit his innings.
June 2 3:17 PM PT4:17 PM MT5:17 PM CT6:17 PM ET18:17 ET22:17 GMT6:17 3:17 PM MST5:17 PM EST5:47 PM VEN2:17 UAE (+1)5:17 PM CT-Pineda improved his record to 7-2 Monday, limiting Seattle to two runs while striking out nine over six innings in a 7-2 road victory.
Analysis: Pineda has a 3.33 ERA and 76 strikeouts in 70 1-3 innings.
May 28 2:38 PM PT3:38 PM MT4:38 PM CT5:38 PM ET17:38 ET21:38 GMT5:38 2:38 PM MST4:38 PM EST5:08 PM VEN1:38 UAE (+1)4:38 PM CT-Following back-to-back defeats, Pineda earned a 4-2 win over Kansas City on Wednesday.
Analysis: Pineda gave up one run in 6 2-3 innings after allowing a combined 12 - nine earned - in his previous 11 1-3 innings.
May 11 2:31 PM PT3:31 PM MT4:31 PM CT5:31 PM ET17:31 ET21:31 GMT5:31 2:31 PM MST4:31 PM EST5:01 PM VEN1:31 UAE (+1)4:31 PM CT-Pineda struck out a career-high 16 in seven dominant innings Sunday.
Analysis: Pineda's 16 Ks tied for second-most in team history and matched an MLB record for a pitcher with seven or fewer innings of work.
May 6 3:35 PM PT4:35 PM MT5:35 PM CT6:35 PM ET18:35 ET22:35 GMT6:35 3:35 PM MST5:35 PM EST6:05 PM VEN2:35 UAE (+1)5:35 PM CT-Pineda pitched a gem on Tuesday, allowing no runs and five hits over eight innings in a 6-3 win at Toronto.
Analysis: Pineda is 4-0 with a 2.97 ERA with 38 strikeouts in six starts.
Apr. 25 3:24 PM PT4:24 PM MT5:24 PM CT6:24 PM ET18:24 ET22:24 GMT6:24 3:24 PM MST5:24 PM EST5:54 PM VEN2:24 UAE (+1)5:24 PM CT-Pineda allowed one run and five hits in 7 2-3 innings, striking out seven Friday.
Analysis: Pineda was dealing against the Mets. He moved to 3-0 with a 3.86 ERA.
Apr. 9 2:55 PM PT3:55 PM MT4:55 PM CT5:55 PM ET17:55 ET21:55 GMT5:55 2:55 PM MST4:55 PM EST5:25 PM VEN1:55 UAE (+1)4:55 PM CT-Pineda did not get a decision in Wednesday's fantasy debut.
Analysis: Pineda pitched six solid innings for the Yankees

Regular Season

Pitching Statistics
Year Team W L Sv-Op G GS CG IP H R ER HR BB IBB K WHIP ERA
2011 Sea 9 10 0 - 0 28 28 0 171.0 133 76 71 18 55 1 173 1.10 3.74
2014 NYY 5 5 0 - 0 13 13 0 76.1 56 18 16 5 7 0 59 0.83 1.89
2015 NYY 10 8 0 - 0 21 21 1 128.1 139 63 58 14 16 0 127 1.21 4.07
Career 24 23 0 - 0 62 62 1 375.2 328 157 145 37 78 1 359 1.08 3.47

Hitting Statistics
Year Team G AB R H 2B 3B HR RBI BB K SB CS AVG OBP SLG
2011 Sea 28 5 0 1 0 0 0 0 0 2 0 0 .200 .200 .200
Career 62 5 0 1 0 0 0 0 0 2 0 0 .200 .200 .200


Pitching Velocity

Pitch TypePitchesMaxMinAvgPct
Fastball 1069 97 87 92.7 53.4
Slider 682 90 78 85.3 34.07
Changeup 251 91 83 88 12.54

w9 © 2015 by STATS LLC.
Any commercial use or distribution without the express written consent of STATS LLC is strictly prohibited.